The National Treasury has disbursed Sh50 billion to counties after President Uhuru Kenyatta signed into law the Division of Revenue Allocation Bill, 2019 into law.

The presidential assent now sets the stage for the release of funds to counties after a two-month stalemate between the National Assembly and the Senate.

Addressing journalists on Tuesday, acting Treasury CS Ukur Yatani thanked the Senate and National Assembly for approving the bill which allocates a total of Sh378.1 billion to the devolved units.

”The extended delay in the Division of Revenue Bill approval has adversely affected the implementation of the Counties financial year 2019/20 budgets with negative consequences on social-economic activities countrywide as well as delivery of crucial public service,” Yatani said.

He said that the amount includes Sh316.5 billion for the equitable share of revenue raised nationally, while Sh61.6 billion comprise of conditional allocation to counties.

“We are releasing Sh50 billion today to cover for July and August. We plan to disburse more before October 1 to cover September,’ he said.