Kenya’s Timothy Cheruiyot has been dropped from the final shortlist of athletes for the IAAF Athlete of the Year Award, leaving world marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge to battle for other athletes for the gong. 

Cheruiyot will miss on the award despite dominating his 1,500m speciality this year and winning the Diamond League trophy and the world title. 

Kipchoge on his part became the first human to ran a sub-two-hour marathon last month, clocking 1:59:40 in Vienna during the Ineos Challenge. 

Kipchoge also won the London Marathon for the fourth time early this year in a course record time of 2:02:37. Kipchoge has won 12 of the 13 marathons he has competed since switching to road races in 2013.

Kipchoge is pitted against Uganda’s  World and Commonwealth Games c 10,000m champion Joshua Cheptegei, world 200m champion Noah Lyles world pole-vault champion Sam Kendricks  (USA) and Norway’s world 400m champion Karsten Warholm. 

Cheptegei had a stellar performance throughout the season, culminating in winning the world 10,000m title in a world-leading time of 26:48.36. He also sealed the Diamond League trophy in the 5,000m. 

Lyles gets the nod after winning the world title in Doha last September. The American ran a world-leading 19.50 in Lausanne to move to fourth on the world all-time list and won Diamond League titles at 100m and 200m.

His fellow American Kendricks cleared a world-leading 6.06m to win the US title and won 12 of his 17 outdoor competitions, including the Diamond League final as well as the world title. 

Warholm makes the cut for the coveted award after winning the 400 m world title in Doha. He was undefeated in indoors and outdoors at all distances, including at the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships and clocked world-leading 46.92, the second-fastest time in history en-route to winning the world crown.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists. The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family cast their votes by email, while fans vote online via our social media platforms. The council’s vote counted for 50 per cent of the result, while the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25 per cent of the final result.

Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closed on  November 4. The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 in Monaco on November 23.